And The Winner Is …

The results are in and have been tallied, and I will share them with you in just a moment.  But first, there was a bit of a problem with the poll this year.  I left off the most obviously qualified contender for the award, Donald Trump.  Now, I had good reason, as when I first established the Idiot of the Week, and subsequent Idiot of the Year awards, I made a few rules, one of which was that nobody could be given the award more than once.  Since Donald Trump won hands down in 2016, I did not for a moment consider putting him in the running in 2017.  But many readers were disappointed and asked me to reconsider, or to give him some special award.  I try always to be open-minded, and allow things to evolve as they will.  So, I added a ‘write in’ space, and said that if Trump got the most votes, I would give him the award.  Sadly, the write in worked for some readers, but not for many others, and I was unable to fix that problem, so Donald Trump received only two write-in votes, though I believe he would have topped the list if everyone had been able to write in his name.

I thought long and hard, and what I have come up with is a special award to be given to Donald Trump, which I will do after I present the regular awards. So, without further ado …

The Grand Prize Idiot of the Year award goes to none other than

Idiot of the YEARMs. Kellyanne Conway!!!

kellyanneKellyanne earned 31% of the votes, and there is, perhaps, no more prominent defender of Donald Trump. She is ubiquitous on TV, explaining Trump’s tweet du jour, even if Trump contradicts her hours later. I will do a more in-depth analysis of the many things that have led to this moment of glory in Conway’s career, but for today, suffice it to say that she more than deserves this award.

Tied for 2nd place, with 13% of the votes each, are U.S. Representative from Pennsylvania, Mike Kelly, and Secretary of Energy, Rick Perry. I was torn as to which was the bigger idiot, but given his longer history of idiocy, I have awarded 2nd place to Mr. Rick Perry ….

And the 3rd place prize goes to Mr. Mike Kelly …


The three write in votes were:

  • Donald Trump – 2 votes, 6% of total
  • Sarah, the Huckster, Sanders – 1 vote, 3% of total

And now to the special award.  By popular demand, I present a special award, Filosofa’s Lifetime of Idiocy Award, to


Mr. Donald Trump!

My resident artiste did not have time to create a new medal for this event, so I am using one I came across.  I am certain that Mr. Trump will appreciate this award and be bragging about how great he is.

Thanks to all who took time to vote, and I am sure that a year from now we will have an entire new batch of idiots from whom to choose.

28 thoughts on “And The Winner Is …

  1. ”Well, we were just so excited in the UK to get the results we spilt cold tea over our machines and thus the delay. But gosh, it’s so impressive for these ladies and gentlemen go out there every day and work so hard sending the message out to the USA and beyond for everyone to feel no matter how humble, no matter how poorly educated, no matter ill-equipped they may be, each and every person will know in their hearts they could do a better job!
    A round of applause for these truly amazing idiots for making us feel so good about ourselves!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Jill,

    I had as much luck in voting for the “Idiot of the Year,” as I have had in picking the winning lottery ticket numbers, which amounts to a complete bust.

    But I do approve of the honor of awarding this big booby prize to KellyAnne Conway as she is completely deserving of this honor. She has done her best to earn it. After all she is the creator of the term alt-facts.

    Hugs, Gronda

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I have never known a bigger idiot than Kellyanne, and I am still in complete amazement to think that she actually has a law degree and has passed the Bar exam! Amazing, isn’t it? But, as I told another reader, she is such a blatant idiot that she isn’t all that dangerous. It is the ones who look and mostly act normal who scare me the most. Sigh. And I hear you on the lottery thing .. I am a total failure.


      Liked by 1 person

    • Many, many thanks for sharing, my friend!!! Yes, she truly defines the word ‘idiot’, though I would say that she is so obviously one that it diminishes the danger she poses. Far more frightening are the ones who appear normal. Hugs!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I did wonder about the inclusion or otherwise of Trump but then decided he was too canny an operator to be constrained by the term idiot. I think he needs a whole new category but as for giving it one name, too many spring to mind 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks!!! I’m thinking the same, for I already have three on my radar, and this only the third day of the year! I could probably manage an entire blog on nothing but idiots, but … I think that would turn me against people as a whole. I’ll stick with a few times a month! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jill, per Gronda’s post, Devin Nunes is making another run for the award. I would write in Jared Kushner’s name, since we could not vote on papa-in-law. If he had been more forthcoming on his disclosure attempts, he could have lessened scrutiny. But, in a year of continual lying and bad decisions, Trump’s decision to fire James Comey may go down as the most bonehead move of the year. (Of course, firing Comey without telling him showed the kind of man Trump is). Keith

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, I think Nunes may well be winning an award from me soon. And I agree with you 100% on Kushner … I used to think perhaps he was the one person in the Trump clan with some decency, but I now see I was wrong. It’s going to be another interesting year, isn’t it?


  5. Yaaasss! She is a fine choice for the award. Although I hadn’t thought about the Huckster. As far as the Trump issue?…name the yearly award after him…The Donald Trump Idiot of the Year Award. Is there anything a narcissist would love more than to have an achievement award named after him?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not a bad idea, naming the award after the Idiot-in-Chief! I’ll keep it in mind for next year. Sarah Huckabee Sanders is on my radar to become an Idiot of the Week, too. I’m sure we’ll have a good batch to choose from next year. 😉


I would like to hear your opinion, so please comment if you feel so inclined.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s